Hearty Lamb & Potato Dish

I don’t eat a lot of meat, so sometimes when I do I like to mix up my meat selection. As I walked through our local little organic mom & pop store, The Flying Moose, I found some great local organic ground lamb. I had never cooked with lamb so I jumped at the opportunity to use it. My first dish I used the lamb with was a success! Take a look through this delicious and it’s alternative additions. Enjoy!

Hearty Lamb &Potato Dish

Ingredients:

  • organic ground lamb
  • red potatoes
  • zucchini
  • baby tomatoes
  • corn
  • yellow onion
  • blue cheese (if you enjoy or are able)

How To:

  • Let the ground lamb defrost, then cook in a non-stick pan on the stove until browned. I found it best to cook it on medium heat so the meat did not get too tough.
  • Once the meat is browned, turn off the stove and take off the heat. Drain meat, if needed.
  • Then preheat the oven to 425 F.
  • While the oven is preheating wash and cut your potatoes. ( I cut mine into smaller pieces, make to your liking)
  • Next dice your onions, zucchini, and half your baby tomatoes. Afterwards, mix your lamb in with the vegetables (Don’t forget the corn if you’re not allergic, it’s delicious!) .
  • Once the oven is preheated, put a piece of tinfoil on a metal pan and begin to lay your mix of vegetables and lamb out onto the pan.
  • Then put 1 teaspoon of grape seed oil and spread it over the mix. Then add a seasoning of your liking. (I used a local dried creole seasoning.)
  • If desired, shred some blue cheese over the mix before putting into the oven. Although I am allergic to dairy, blue cheese does not bother me so I have it occasionally. If you do not enjoy blue cheese, feta, goat or others would be just as delicious.
  • After everything is on the pan, put in the oven for 12-15 minutes, or until the potatoes are fully cooked.

Fun Additions:

  • Instead of ground lamb,try shredded or ground chicken
  • Sweet bell peppers
  • Carrots
  • Mushrooms
  • Mild pepper rings
  • Squash 
  • Spinach

 

Leave a Reply

