Sunflower Seed Butter Smoothie

Hello blogosphere! I’m Elise, and I’m really new to this stuff… so bare with me! I don’t even have a twitter! *gasp!*  

My tastes are rather eclectic, but as of the last year I am really interested in learning to be a better cook. My goal is to live a healthier lifestyle by eating well and getting myself off the couch! I’ll be posting tips along the journey towards my goal. 
My fiancé and I have been perfecting the art of making an awesome smoothie with a not-so-awesome blender. We finally found a recipe that is amazing that doesn’t take a high powered blender! My secret ingredient: Sunflower Seed Butter.  

 This has been sitting in my cabinet for a month, and we couldn’t get used to the taste. It is delicious, but definitely doesn’t make the cut as a peanut butter substitute. However, I found out that it transforms a smoothie into a shake-like consistency. It was like eating desert without any guilt! 

For my recipe, I used a larger amount of milk, but if you have a higher-powered blender, feel free to use less. Otherwise I just eyeball all the ingredients to my liking when I’m adding them. This recipe could also be frozen for a healthy treat on a hot summer day. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  

  • 2 cups Kale or Spinach
  • 1/4 cup non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk (almond, soy or coconut milk works just fine too!) 
  • 3 tablespoons sunflower seed butter
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries (You can mix this up too! Add mangos, peaches… etc.)

Directions 

  • Add ingredients in blender

 

  • Then enjoy! Easy peasy. 

    

Leave a Reply

